working on vacation

Photo Credit: Gina Vercesi, Unplugged Traveling Mom

There are two schools of thought. The first is a proponent of something called a workcation–essentially a vacation during which you work remotely for at least part of the time.  The second is a proponent of an actual vacation–essentially an extended period of leisure time during which you are away from your work.

Whether you work from home or in an actual office, it has become increasingly difficult to disconnect from the pull of one’s professional life. With advances in mobile technology, it’s now possible to work remotely wherever there’s an internet signal.

There are pros and cons to being just a Skype call or email away from the our bosses, colleagues, or clients. And finding the balance between working and relaxing can be a real challenge.

Where do you stand on the question of workcations versus vacations? Would you be more likely to travel if you knew you could stay in touch with the office during your trip? How would doing so effect your kids? Your spouse?  Do you have a partner who needs to work remotely even when on a family vacation?  What are your strategies for making a real vacation a priority?  When was the last time you did so?  Should taking a real vacation be a priority?

Join us for our #TMOM Twitter party on Monday, June 22, 2015, as we hash through all of these questions and more.  We’ll share our tips for finding a balance between work time and vacation time so that you, your boss, and your family end up satisfied!

WHEN: June 22,  9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @travelingmoms @KimOrlando @CindyTravelsOn @TibsTravel @momconfessional @ramblingstump @DesireeMiller @outsideparents @alliberman

HOW TO JOIN: Follow the #TMOM hashtag

SPREAD THE WORD: Tweet How do you find a balance between work time &  time? Join the  Twitter Party 6/22 @ 9pm ET to talk  & .