natureHave you gazed at the Grand Canyon? Wandered among the Redwoods? Climbed the cliffs at Crystal Cove? Share your favorite memory of a state or national park at our next TravelingMom Monday Twitter party, Nov. 1, 2010.

The party was spurred by a blogger campaign to rally voters in California to support Prop 21. That proposition would add $18 to license costs each year to support state parks. In return, Californians would get free access to the state parks all year. Sounds like a good idea to us.

But California isn’t the only state with budget problems and California state parks aren’t the only ones seeing their staff cut, their hours shortened and their futures endangered. Supporters of Prop 21 believe it can serve as a model for funding other cash-strapped park systems across the country.

Show your love for state and national parks by joining us on this election-eve Twitter party and invite your friends to join too. We’ll collect your comments and post them on TravelingMom.com after the party.

Wondering what the heck is a Twitter party? We can help.

waterfallParty Details:

WHEN:  Nov. 1, 9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @KimOrlando @CindyRichards @doubleadventure @trekaroo @bridgetasmith @TravelMamas @pitstopsforkids

WHAT: Twitter party – State and National Parks

HOW to JOIN:  Follow the hashtags #TMOM #SOSparks

RSVP

Leave your Twitter handle here to be entered to win a nifty prize during the party.

Every few minutes, we’ll give away a prize, including:

1. Downloadable Family Adventure Guidebook, The Unauthorized Guide to Legoland California, by Bridget Smith. If you’re planning to visit the LEGOLAND theme park in Carlsbad, California, this is the book you need to make the most of your adventure. Bridget Smith is a mom of three who loves to blog about everyday adventures. Her mission is to “change the world; one kid, one destination, one effortless trip, one overworked mom, one frazzled dad… one day at a time!”

2. Downloadable apps from Lorraine Akemann, founder, www.mybusykit.com and www.momswithapps.com, including My Little Suitcase and Leaf Jam, both for iPhone and iPod touch. My Little Suitcase is a kids travel application for children ages 2 to 6 in which kids pack for their family vacation and choose where to go. Leaf Jam is an open-ended musical playground of fall leaves, seasonal colors, and warm melodies. Tap the screen to make the leaves fall. See orange, yellow, purple and red illuminate the landscape. Tap it lightly, or use all of your fingertips to cover the ground – the choice is up to you.

All winners will be chosen using random.org. You will have 48 hours to respond and claim your prize. Winners please DM your address to @aidenscross and allow 3-4 weeks for delivery. Prizes may be subsituted.