group-of-studentsWhen I was a junior in high school, I spent three weeks in France with my French club during April, including five days in Paris.  April in Paris.  It may be cliché, but there’s plenty of truth to the magic that surrounds the city of light in the spring.  It was an amazing opportunity for my sixteen-year old self and ended up being utterly transformational.  I emerged from my shell of self-consciousness during that trip–three weeks traveling with a bunch of teenagers, several of whom were part of another school’s French club, and two teacher chaperones.  I will be forever grateful to my parents for giving me that experience.

Looking back, I realize that I never gave a thought to whether or not my parents were worried about me while I was away.  Now that I have children of my own, the thought of sending them on such a trip makes me a bit weak in my knees.  My girls are still too young, yet I know that their solo travel is something that lies on my parenting horizon.  When the time comes, I’ll need to be brave, remembering what such a trip did for me.

For teens, traveling abroad without parents can be both exhilarating and scary.  For parents, sending teens overseas on their own can spark similar feelings and raise any number of concerns.  Whether they’re traveling with a school group, as part of an exchange program, on a church mission or for a voluntourism excursion, such a venture promises that kids will gain insights into new cultures, have experiences that will allow them to grow as individuals and come home with a deeper understanding of the world around them.

Join us on Monday, March 9th as we chat about the excitement, complexities and logistics of sending teens abroad on their own.  What are some of the opportunities that are available for teens’ solo travel?  How, as parents, can we overcome our own anxieties about sending our kids overseas without us?  We’ll be sharing lots of ideas for ways you can help to ensure that your child’s experience is both safe and meaningful.

Let’s get the conversation started!  Share this post on Facebook with a comment about your ideas about solo travel for teens.

WHEN: March 9, 9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @TravelingMoms @KimOrlando @DebMomOf3

WHAT: Twitter party – Travel Abroad for Teens

HOW TO JOIN: Follow the hashtag #TMOM

Need to know more about Twitter parties and how they work? Get the low-down here: What the heck is a Twitter party?

To ensure you never miss the latest travel stories, news and updates, sign up for the TravelingMom newsletter. Are you already a subscriber? Then please forward the newsletter to a friend. We have more great contests coming up soon. You won’t want to miss any of it.

Beware: A #TMOM party is guaranteed to make you want to travel.