Buying an old car for a new teen driver

photo credit: Carissa Rogers

Here at Traveling Mom we know that travel and car safety go hand in hand.  We also know that our teens spend a lot of time behind the wheel.  Whether they’re driving to the school dance, to a local babysitting gig or on a mini-roadtrip to the beach with their pals for the day, teaching your kids the basics of automobile maintenance means that you’re arming them with information that isn’t only useful, but lifesaving.  And one of the most important skills your driving teens can know is how to check their tires.

Announcing the Michelin & FIA Teen Road Safety Grant

Of the 2.2 million accidents per year among inexperienced drivers, 12 percent are related to tire related issues– such as insufficient tread or tire pressure.  However, only a few driver’s education programs offer instruction on tire maintenance and safety. To remedy this shortcoming, Michelin and FIA just awarded a $100,000 Teen Road Safety Grant to ADTSEA (the American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association), to benefit driver’s ed programs in Long Beach, CA and Miami, FL, in conjunction with the debut U.S. Formula E races held there this year.

To help parents and teens,  car and tire maintenance resources are just a click away with Michelin and FIA’s Beyond the Driving Test campaign; for downloadable tip sheets and more information that you can use with your kids, visit beyondthedrivingtest.com.

With this in mind, we’ve teamed up with SheBuysCars for a special twitter party during which we’ll discuss tire safety and teen driving.  And with help from Michelin, we’ll have plenty of tips to share about safer teen driving and ways you can educate your teens about tire safety.

A Brand, New Pair of Tires Could be Yours!

Best of all you can win a pair of Michelin Premier tires, valued at $580.
Check out all the details to enter and join the party below.

Party Details:

We’ll be chatting about tire safety and teen driving education:

WHEN:  Monday March 23, 9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO:

Hosts: @SheBuysCars @TravelingMoms
Panelists: @ScottyReiss @KimOrlando @Judy511 @NicoleWakelin @DianaRowe

WHAT: Twitter party –  tire safety AND teen driving eduction

HOW TO JOIN:  Follow the hashtags #TMOM and #SafeTires

How to Enter: Enter your Twitter handle, follow @shebuyscars and @TravelingMoms and check out the giveaway using the widget below for your chances to win! To be eligible to win you must enter the Rafflecopter below and participate in the Twitter party using #SafeTires. Tell your friends for extra chances!

a Rafflecopter giveaway