suitcase_on_the_bedStaycations came into vogue during the recession as a way to make people feel better about not being able to afford a real family vacation. But just because you’re not sleeping in a hotel is no reason to be bummed about a staycation family vacation.

Check these tips from TravelingMom with Teens about how to ensure a staycation is a real family vacation and from TMOM contributor Carissa Rogers who will be staycationing during her kids’ spring break, then join us at 9 pm ET March 21 when we talk about staycations during our weekly #TMOM Monday Twitter Party.

Wondering what the heck is a Twitter party and how TMOM Monday works? We can help.

Party Details:

WHEN: March 21, 9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: @kimorlando @CindyRichards @carissarogers @travelingmoms

WHAT: Twitter party – Staycations

HOW TO JOIN: Follow the hashtag #TMOM

Prizes

RSVP below to be eligible to win a TravelingMom backpack full of fun, including an Around the Table Game, to entertain your kids during family travel. As always, there is more than one way to enter:

1. RSVP for the party below by leaving your Twitter handle. If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can still enter by leaving a comment below telling us why you aren’t on Twitter (i.e. “It’s stupid,” or “How can I say anything important in 140 characters or less?”)

2. Help us spread the word about TMOM Monday by tweeting the following BEFORE 9 pm ET on March 21:

#TMOM Twitter Party 9pET 3/21. Join us to talk staycations. RSVP here: http://bit.ly/foL4B6

We’ll choose winners from the RSVP list during the party. Prizes and details subject to change. All winners will be chosen using random.org. You will have 48 hours to respond and claim your prize. Winners please DM your address to @DebMomof3 and allow 3-4 weeks for delivery.