Photo Credit: Silvana Clark/RV TravelingMom

Photo Credit: Silvana Clark/RV TravelingMom

When traveling with kids, it can be tough to give them insight into the realities of a country they see only from the beach of the expensive all-inclusive resort. But there are plenty of options for giving back through travel.

You can choose to take a voluntourism vacation, you can pay it forward while traveling, you can buy locally produced, free trade goods, or you can support a charity like Passports with Purpose that works to elevate life for people in economically challenged corners of the world.

In a homage to the holiday season, we will talk all about giving back through travel during our Dec. 15 #TMOM Twitter party. It’s our last scheduled party of 2014. Please join us during this special #GNO #TMOM party to share your tips, ideas and experiences for teaching your children about giving back when you travel.

WHEN: December 15 9-10 pm EST (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @TravelingMoms @KimOrlando @DebMomOf3 @CindyRichards @kidsunplugged @DesireeMiller @solomomtravel

WHAT: Twitter party – Giving Back Through Travel

HOW TO JOIN: Follow the hashtags #TMOM #GNO and #PwP during the party.

Need to know more about Twitter parties and how they work? Get the low-down here: What the heck is a Twitter party?