booksBooks transport us. Whether the book was written specifically about a destination or one that immerses us in the richness of its setting, a book can inspire us to seek out new places. Literary travel lets us follow along with authors as they hike the Appalachian Trail, travel into the wilds of Alaska, or saunter across a piazza in Rome, all the while experiencing the sights and sounds through words on a page.

Children do the same, exploring New York City through the eyes of Stuart Little or Paris with Madeline. Memoirs like Eat, Pray, Love and Peter Mayle’s timeless Provence series make us eager for similar transformational experiences on the road.

This week, join with us as tweet about the books that inspire us to travel and taking books on the road. What are your favorites? They don’t need to be travel books–plenty of folks have planned a visit to Savannah, Georgia after reading Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. (Take the ghost tour and even non-believers are likely to see the ghost in the upstairs window of the mansion where it all happened.)

Share this post on Facebook with a comment telling us where you you traveled because of a book. What books have you read that have settings so incredible you’ve bumped them to the top of your bucket list?  Are there certain books you must have with you when you travel?

WHEN: Feb. 23, 9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @TravelingMoms @KimOrlando @DebMomOf3 @TibsTravel @VeryHungryTrav @kidsareatrip @furrykarma @suerodman

WHAT: Twitter party – Literary Travel

HOW TO JOIN: Follow the hashtag #TMOM

PRIZE: During the party we will be give away a $25 Amazon gift card for one lucky winner to be able to add to his or her book or ebook library.

To be eligible, you must:

1. RSVP by leaving your Twitter handle in the Rafflecopter widget below – NOT in the comments. (If you aren’t on Twitter, it’s easy—and free—to sign up. Go to www.twitter.com to see how – or just leave your name in the widget) Check back often for additional entry options!

2. Have at least three unique Tweets (other than a RT) on the party from 9-10 pm ET on February 23.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Need to know more about Twitter parties and how they work? Get the low-down here: What the heck is a Twitter party?

To ensure you never miss the latest travel stories, news and updates, sign up for the TravelingMom newsletter. Are you already a subscriber? Then please forward the newsletter to a friend. We have more great contests coming up soon. You won’t want to miss any of it.

Please! Read all the legal fine print here.

Beware: A #TMOM party is guaranteed to make you want to travel.