Shopping‘Tis the season to shop. At our Dec. 13, 2010 TMOM Monday Twitter party, we’ll talk about how you can change the world based on your decisions about where to shop and what to buy.

World  Shoppe and Seeds of Blessing will provide prizes for partiers who RSVP below. Both sites sell “fair trade” goods made by artisans and farmers in some of the most economically disadvantaged parts of the world. By joining the global fair trade movement, the artisans are able to get a fair price for their products. Since they sell directly to retailers, there is no “middle man” to add expense, which helps hold down product costs for consumers.

We’ll have two prizes: A South African necklace from World Shoppe and a basket from Seeds of Blessings.

saf_necklaceThere are several ways to enter below. Then join us on Dec. 13 to offer your holiday shopping tips, tell us whether you buy locally when you travel and share your secret Santa wish.

Wondering what the heck is a Twitter party? We can help.

Party Details:

WHEN:  Dec. 13, 9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO:  @CindyRichards @KimOrlando @travelingmoms @worldshoppe  @blessingbasket

WHAT: Twitter party – Shopping

HOW to JOIN:  Follow the hashtags #TMOM #FTSHOP

PRIZES

basketAlong with this fun discussion, World Shoppe will give away a South African necklace and Seeds of Blessings will give away a basket. You can be eligible to win a cool prize just for RSVPing here.

There are four ways to enter:

1.       RSVP for the party below by leaving your Twitter handle. If you don’t have a Twitter account, you can still enter by leaving a comment below telling us why you aren’t on Twitter (i.e. “It’s stupid,” or “How can I say anything important in 140 characters or less?”)

2. If you are on Twitter and would like an additional entry, help us spread the word about TravelingMom Monday by tweeting:

#TMOM Twitter Party 12/13, 9pm ET Share your shopping tips, RSVP http://bit.ly/h9uKVF and follow #FTSHOP on Twitter.

Then come back here and leave a new comment telling us you tweeted the party promotion and you’ll get a second entry. All tweets must be sent before 9pm ET on December 13.

3.       Visit WorldShoppe.com and check out all the cool products. Then come back here and leave a comment telling us which fair trade product you would like to find under your Christmas tree.

4.       Visit SeedsofBlessing.com and check out the gorgeous baskets. Then come back here and leave a comment telling us which fair trade basket you would like to own.

We’ll choose two winners from the RSVP list during the party. All winners will be chosen using random.org. You will have 48 hours to respond and claim your prize. Winners please DM your address to  @DebMomof3 and allow 3-4 weeks for delivery.