Photo credit: Marina K. Villatoro /Gringa TravelingMom

Photo credit: Marina K. Villatoro /Gringa TravelingMom

In the days before many of us had any kids – or much money – we came up with creative ways to travel cheaply, whether that meant traveling by bus instead of plane, choosing park-bench picnics over restaurant meals, or finding a cheap alternative to a hotel room.

Today many of have kids and we *still* don’t have much money, so the question becomes: What money-saving tricks from our days of “carefree” travel can we use to ensure some frugal family travel?

If you consider yourself an accomplished frugal traveler and have tips to help families scrimp and save on vacation, share your favorite ways to be cheap during our April 7 Twitter party!

WHEN: April 7, 9-10 pm ET (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @TravelingMoms @KimOrlando @DebMomOf3 @CindyRichards @Paul Eisenberg @therookiedad @4hatsandfrugal

WHAT: Twitter party – Family Travel on the Cheap

HOW TO JOIN: RSVP by leaving your Twitter handle in the comment section below. (If you aren’t on Twitter, it’s easy—and free—to sign up. Go to www.twitter.com to see how.) Then follow the hashtag #TMOM from 9-10 pm ET on March 31.

Please help us spread the word about #TMOM Monday by tweeting:

Share your ideas for #travel on the #cheap #TMOM Twitter party 9 pm ET 4/7. RSVP: bit.ly/1dRH6Ft

To ensure you never miss the latest travel stories, news and updates, sign up for the TravelingMom newsletter. Are you already a subscriber? Then please forward the newsletter to a friend. We have more great contests coming up soon. You won’t want to miss any of it.